1. Home
  2. News & Update
  3. Construction for Mumbai Metro-3 to start in January 2015

Construction for Mumbai Metro-3 to start in January 2015

The construction for the ambitious project of 32.5 Km long Colaba-Bandra-SEEPZ underground metro corridor is likely to commence from January 2015. Mumbai Metro Rail Corporation (MMRCL) plans to issue detailed tenders for Metro-3 by July 2014 and award the contract to the successful bidder by October 2014.
“Pre-qualification bids for the first underground metro in the country’s financial capital have evoked good response from all the consortiums showing great interest in Mumbai’s first underground metro. Presently we feel that the detailed tenders can be issued by July 2014,” said Sanjay Sethi, Managing Director, MMRCL and Additional Metropolitan Commissioner, MMRDA. The MMRCL is also confident of awarding contract by October, 2014 for the project to be undertaken on Engineering, Procurement and Construction (EPC) basis.
“We have tied up the funding for this project from Japan International Co-operation Agency (JICA), Government of India and Government of Maharashtra through MMRDA,” said Mr Sethi.
JICA will be funding 57 per cent of the total project cost of Rs. 23,136 crore. The Government of India and Government of Maharashtra-through MMRDA will be bear the rest of the cost. The GoI will provide 50 per cent of Central Taxes as Sub-debt while the balance 50 per cent shall be borne by the State Government. The GoM may also get a few exemptions from various local taxes – details of which are being worked out at present,” informed Mr Sethi.
He further added that Rs 777 crore will also be borne by the Mumbai International Airport Ltd (MIAL), since the metro will pass through the MIAL areas.
The Colaba-Seepz metro will comprise of 27 stations; out of which 26 will be underground and one at Aarey Colony, Goregaon, will be at grade (ground level). Underground construction will be at a depth of 15 to 25 meters on an average. The construction of 32.5 km Metro will be carried out in 7 packages at 14 different locations.
The 27 stations on the Colaba-SEEPZ Metro corridor are – Cuffe Parade, Vidhan Bhavan, Churchgate, Hutatma Chowk, CST Metro, Kalbadevi, Girgaon, Grant Road, Mumbai Central, Mahalaxmi Metro, Science Museum, Acharya Atre Chowk, Worli, Siddhi Vinayak, Dadar Metro, Shitaladevi Temple, Dharavi, BKC Metro, Vidya Nagari, Santacruz, Chhatrapati Shivaji Airport (Domestic), Sahar Road, Chhatrapati Shivaji International Airport, Marol Naka, MIDC, SEEPZ and Aarey Colony.


Cookie Consent

We use cookies to personalize your experience. By continuing to visit this website you agree to our Terms & Conditions, Privacy Policy and Cookie Policy.